When it all falls, when it all falls down… with Marko K for Elska Magazine Issue (01)

All of the shoots that I do for Elska Magazine are inspired by music. And usually it’s the music that comes first. In the weeks leading up to a series of shoots, I’ll build a mixtape on my phone with various tracks. It’s not purposeful, meant to fit any particular mood or style, but just what I fancy listening to at the time. As I’m sat on a train, cycling, or whatever, I’ll be listening to the Elska Mixtape and certain lines from the lyrics will jump out at me. These lines then inspire the style, location or even the boy I choose for a shoot.
i-elskamagazinelviv_markok-1

For the shoot with Marko K., set in an abandoned factory and warehouse complex south of Lviv city centre, the song that was playing around in my mind was Madonna’s “Ghosttown”. And the line that really grabbed me was “When it all falls, when it all falls down”. I don’t know where I was when that line jumped out at me, but instantly I knew that I needed a broken down setting, somewhere that once was bustling and fruitful and now was destroyed, as if Armageddon had come. But like the Madonna song, I was interested in what still lives in such a place – plants for example, but also memories. I imagined Marko K. as someone who’d been absent for many years and returned to find this place utterly transformed. I wanted to see his shock, curiosity, and mourning as well as to convey some sense of positivity, likenew life springing from death.

See more of the Marko K. shoot and more of Lviv in Elska Magazine Issue (01), available in select shops or online at www.elskamagazine.com

And please like us: fb.com/elskamagazine

Leave a Reply

