But it’s too late to come on home… with Michał G. for Elska Magazine

I shot before with Michał G., a guy I met at a party where Florence & the Machine was playing. I’d been meaning to listen to her latest album How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful, and it took Michał to push me into finally doing it. We also decided, on the night we met, that we’d do some photos together.

butitstoolatetocomeonhome-5

Needing aural inspiration as I always do, I chose my favourite song from that album, “Long and Lost”. It wasn’t even a track that Michał remembered, but it spoke to me. Like Michał, we both emigrated from our homes and moved on too much to ever be able to go back.

The imagery reminded me of an old VHS tape that gets scratchier and fuzzier every time you watch it. That’s my birthplace to me, not home but just a blurred up mess that I no longer even have a machine capable of playing it, i.e. a VCR.

I added some scratchiness and colouration that seemed to emulate my memory of old tapes. And I doubled up two images, like the part of the tape where you’ve recorded over one show to make room for another.  And so we have Michał reminding me that it’s no longer possible to go home, and really it’s not home at all. It’s only a place I remember, fuzzily.

Subscribe to or buy individual issues of Elska Magazine, available in select shops or online at www.elskamagazine.com

Leave a Reply

