Sorry for the Cher but I don’t really care… with Emil T for Elska Magazine

One of the songs on the Berlin issue’s mixtape is Cher’s “Take it Like a Man”. This was the track used for Emil T’s shoot at the former site of Templehof Airport. Even before I met Emil, I knew I was using him with this song because whoever I shot at the old airport would be paired with it. Why? Well it’s because of the title of the shoot, a lyric taken from the first verse: “I didn’t learn how to fly without a heavy fall”.
ZZ_BLOG_Elska02Berlin-3

Now I’m no gay clone who only listens to Madonna, Kylie and Cher – not that there’s anything wrong with that. And in fact I like all three of those gay pop icons. But Emil T told me after the issue was published that he can’t stand Cher.

When gay guys tell me that they hate these artists, I instantly assume that it’s a reaction against stereotypes, that he doesn’t appreciate being assumed to like Cher just ‘cos he fancies men. It reminds me of the time that a relative gave me an Elton John CD for Christmas a few months after I came out…

But maybe Emil genuinely doesn’t like Cher. I can accept that… but not this song. It’s just soooooo good.

To see more of Emil T, pick up Elska Issue (02) Berlin, available from select shops worldwide or for order online at www.elskamagazine.com

Leave a Reply

