Image

(Sorry for the Cher but I don’t really care… with Emil T from Berlin)

One of the songs on the Berlin issue’s mixtape is Cher’s “Take it Like a Man”. This was the track used for Emil T’s shoot at the former site of Templehof Airport. Even before I met Emil, I knew I was using him with this song because whoever I shot at the old airport would be paired with it. Why? Well it’s because of the title of the shoot, a lyric taken from the first verse: “I didn’t learn how to fly without a heavy fall”.

Now I’m no gay clone who only listens to Madonna, Kylie and Cher – not that there’s anything wrong with that. And in fact I like all three of those gay pop icons. But Emil T told me after the issue was published that he can’t stand Cher.

When gay guys tell me that they hate these artists, I instantly assume that it’s a reaction against stereotypes, that he doesn’t appreciate being assumed to like Cher just ‘cos he fancies men. It reminds me of the time that a relative gave me an Elton John CD for Christmas a few months after I came out…

But maybe Emil genuinely doesn’t like Cher. I can accept that… but not this song. It’s just soooooo good.

See more of Emil and read his story in Elska Magazine issue (02) Berlin

Leave a Reply

