The Way I Am (a Tears for Fears story)… with Diego S for Elska Magazine

I lived in Chicago as a child, not in a suburb but it may as well have been, for it was far from the downtown in a mainly Polish immigrant neighbourhood that wasn’t even the historic cool “downtown” Polish ‘hood. To get some relief from the dullness, I used to love riding my bike (I still do), and would often venture further than the one mile radius that I was allowed to travel. This radius wasn’t perfectly square, however, but rather ended abruptly where the neighbourhood started to get more Mexican, which was a shame ‘cos there was a mall there with a great music store and also a cookie shop that my aunt used to be manager of.

Anyway, as a child I was also very into Tears for Fears, even though they were a bit before my time. What really hooked me was not so much their hits but rather their experimental-sounding b-sides. These tracks were the first examples I’d ever found of pop music that also was art. These were the days before internet streaming, however, so if I wanted to hear these b-sides, I had to go to a shop and buy them, but not just any music store. Instead, I had to find a used record store that had UK imports. One of my greatest finds was their UK-only non-album 10″ vinyl single “The Way You Are”, a song that formed the inspiration for this shoot with Diego S.
BLOG_Elska02Berlin-7

On the day that I found this record, I’d cycled the 8 1/2 miles from my house to Reckless Records. I was eleven years old and it was well beyond my allotted radius, but no one was going to drive me there, and I needed this music like it was air… so I left just saying I was going for a bike ride. No further details.

When I arrived home after getting the record there were police at my house. I guess the three hours or so that I was missing raised alarm bells. So of course I was grounded and had my bike taken away… but later I learned to use the bus.

To see more of Diego S, pick up Elska Magazine Issue (02) Berlin, available in select shops worldwide or for order online. See www.elskamagazine.com

Also available is an exclusive outtakes Elska Ekstra e-zine of Diego S: http://www.lulu.com/shop/liam-campbell/elska-ekstra-02-diego-s/ebook/product-22408352.html?ppn=1

Leave a Reply

