Image

(A Rare Glimpse at the Photographer… with Angelica Fox, out of drag) 

I wish that i could be more confident, but something happened instantly at puberty that made me go totally shy. Before that point I was always posing for the camera. There’s even a picture of me at around age seven dressed in some form of drag with a mop-top as a wig, a colander on top as a hat, and my mother’s curling iron as a microphone. I was probably even singing Madonna into that mic when that image was taken.

Fast forward only a few years and you couldn’t get me in front of a camera no matter how much you begged. I haven’t changed. But sometimes there are little accidental shots of me, such as this one captured in a mirror during a shoot with Scotty, before he got into his drag persona, Angelica Fox. Admittedly it doesn’t reveal a lot, but if it did, I probably wouldn’t be posting it.

Written by Liam Campbell, chief photographer and editor of Elska Magazine.

Subscribe to or buy individual issues of Elska Magazine, available in select shops or online at www.elskamagazine.com

Leave a Reply

