Who’s that Boy? Porteño, Angeleno, Sinner?… with a random boy for Elska Magazine

Here you see a boy. I don’t know him. He’s just a guy I saw while walking around Caminito La Boca, a rather colourful neighbourhood of Buenos Aires. He has a selfie stick, so perhaps he’s not a native porteño. He is wearing a shirt that says “LA”, and since it’s not a Dodger’s baseball tee, I’m gonna guess that he’s not an Angeleno either. Under the “LA” it says “ciudad del pecado” [sin city], so maybe he’s a sinner?! Surely he’s not from Vegas.

BAlaboca.jpg

Before I started Elska, back when I was a flight attendant, I used to go around snapping the locals on the street. I was all about street photography, especially the more candid shots.

I would later look through the pics and wanted to know more about these subjects – who they are, where they come from, what they want from life. It’s the same thing I explore with Elska – it’s not just about photographing the boys but finding out about their lives. Sure, this La Boca boy is a cute lad and I wouldn’t mind a cuddle sesh’ with him, but even more than that I want to grab a beer and chat with him. I can be rather shy, but I love meeting new people. That’s why I do Elska.

Find out more about Elska here: www.elskamagazine.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

